GENERAL INFORMATION


INDABA HOTEL & CONFERENCE CENTRE

Address: Cnr William Nicol Drive & Pieter Wenning Road, Fourways, Johannesburg
Contact: indaba@indabahotel.co.za / +27 (0) 11 840 6600

AIRPORT SHUTTLES

Our preferred supplier is Lux Express.
Their rates for the ICAN Congress 2016 are:
OR Tambo International – Indaba Hotel R540 one way (R1080 return)
Lanseria International – Indaba Hotel R250 one way (R500 return)
Contact:
Please contact Jasna Velkovic on 082 440 8642 or jasna@mweb.co.za  to book.
Use reference code ICAN when booking.
Please note that airport shuttles are not complimentary and are for your own account.

CLIMATE

The average temperature in Johannesburg in September is very mild at 16 °C (60.8 °F). Afternoons can be fairly hot with average high temperatures reaching 23 °C (73.4 °F). Overnight temperatures are generally a little cool with an average low of 9 °C (48.2 °F).

To view an up to date forecast of the weather in Johannesburg click here 

TIME

South Africa is GMT+2 (2 hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time).
Example: 12h00 midday in South Africa, is:
06h00 in New York, USA
11h00 in London, UK
12h00 midday in Paris, France
20h00 in Sydney, Australia

TIPPING / GRATUITIES

A 10% gratuity on the bill generally applies in restaurants and is normally at the discretion of the diner and dependent on the standard of service experienced. Restaurants usually do not include the tip in the bill unless the booking is for 10 or more people.

ELECTRICITY

The electricity supply in South Africa is 220/230 volts AC 50Hz. Appliances of lesser voltage require a transformer (especially those with a heating element such as hairdryers).  Adapters are obtainable locally and in most cases available from your hotel concierge. Most hotel rooms have 110-volt outlets for electric shavers and small appliances.

WATER

South African tap water is completely safe to drink and quite palatable. Bottled water is also available from room service, restaurants and at retail outlets.

SAFETY / SECURITY

Delegates are advised to take the usual safety precautions. Do not walk alone in quiet streets after dark. Use a taxi at night and only those from a reputable taxi company.  Check with your hotel concierge as to the safety of a specific area should you be unsure.  Do not attract attention by displaying expensive items such as cameras and expensive watches and jewellery when sightseeing. Make use of the hotel safety deposit box or your room safe to safeguard valuables and passports.

SMOKING

Smoking is prohibited by law in public areas throughout South Africa, including airports, shopping malls and restaurants.  Most public spaces have specially designated smoking areas.

CURRENCY

The monetary unit is the South African Rand (ZAR) and the international symbol is R.  R1 = 100 cents. Currency is issued in denominations of notes of R200, R100, R50, R20, R10 and coins. Please visit www.xe.com to convert your local currency.

VALUE ADDED TAX

Value added tax (VAT) is included in the price of most goods and services. Visitors are required to pay VAT on purchased goods. VAT refunds may be claimed at airports, harbours and custom offices on items taken out of the country when the total value exceeds R250.00. Customs officials will ask to see the items as well as their purchase slips when applying for a refund.

 MOBILE PHONES

Mobile phones with a local South African sim card & number can be rented at either Johannesburg (OR Tambo) or Cape Town International Airport and returned upon departure.